"It's impossible to overstate how funny Tools of the Trade is."

IndieReader Book Reviews

"The funniest book I have read this year."

Vick Mickunas, WYSU Public Radio

"In the tradition of Terry Southern’s Candy and Gore Vidal’s Myra Breckenridge..."

US Review of Books

"Tools of the Trade is an escapist novel that strokes and tantalizes imaginations while offering entertaining social and gender commentary."

Foreword Clarion Reviews

Masculinity comes in many flavors
A heart-warming tale of alpha males facing a precipitous slide—for beta or for worse. Woody Steele is one of the richest men on the planet. Sadly one of his greatest assets has been recently downsized—sorry Casanova. Ivan Greenbriar, his fellow billionaire nemesis and creep extraordinaire, turns every activity into a pissing contest even when he’s alone. Sargent Scanlon, a hero cop solely on the merits of getting shot in the nuts, doesn’t know what fear is until he must match wits with his odious fourteen-year-old stepdaughter—she’s a crime against humanity.
Meanwhile, looking down from above is Colonel Pavlenko, the world’s oldest practicing Stalinist (mutually assured destruction anyone?). This is a real time, real world story about manly men—and their women, women who are ready to break through the glass ceiling, even if they have to use their mate as a battering ram.

Sex can be the means to an end, but what happens at the end of the means?